1.  Education holds the key to economic growth, social transformation and national integration.

2.  The National Policy on Education formulated in 1986 and modified in 1992 aims to provide education of a comparable quality up to a given level to all students irrespective of their caste, creed residence or sex. It aims at promotion of a national identity, a sense of common citizenship and composite culture and strengthening national integration. It lays stress on the need for a radical transformation of the education system to improve its quality at all stages and gives much greater attention to Science and Technology. All children are proposed to be provided free and compulsory education up to 14 years of age. The Education Department earnestly endeavors to implement the policy.

3.  Education Department in GNCTD is mentioned at Sr. No. 5 of Annexure of Allocation of Business Rules, 1993. The Department has been allocated the following work under these rules:-

(a)                School Education
                 Aided Schools
                 Teachers training
                 SCERT and DIET
                  Grant in-Aid to scholars and cultural organizations
                 Holding of entrance examination of Rashtriya Military College and,
 (h)                 Youth & Welfare Activities
                  National Cadet Corps

4.  As per the Rule 4 of Allocation of Business Rules, 1993, Secretary of the Department is the official Head of Department.

5.  The work allocated to the Education Department GNCTD, is implemented through various
organisations as follows:

a.    Directorate of Education (DoE), GNCTD.

b.    Universalisation of Elementary Education Mission (UEEM) (Grantee Society):
 for implementation of Centrally Sponsored Scheme of Samagra Shiksha.

c.    SCERT & DIETs (Grantee Society): for pre-service and in-service teacher training. SCERT
 is also the State Academic Authority under RTE Act, 2009.

d.    National Cadet Corps

e.    Education Department of Local Bodies (MCDs, NDMC, DCB & DSW)

6.  The educational facilities at school level are provided in stages i.e. pre-primary, primary, middle, secondary and senior secondary level. Pre-primary and primary education is mainly the responsibility of the local bodies. Middle, Secondary and Senior Secondary education is primarily looked after by Directorate of Education, Government of Delhi. Although pre-primary and primary education is mainly the responsibility of the local bodies, the Govt. of Delhi has converted its 449 schools into composite schools, now known as Sarvodaya Vidyalayas having classes from I to XII. New Delhi Municipal Council (NDMC), though mainly concerned with primary education, is also running a select number of middle, secondary, senior secondary schools in its area at present. Apart from this, a number of private organizations receiving Grant-in-Aid from Government are also engaged in imparting education at all levels of schooling. Besides these, recognized unaided schools are also being run in Delhi by registered trusts and societies.


List of Government Schools

List of MCD Schools

List of NDMC Schools

List of KVS Schools
List of DCB Schools
List of JNV Schools
List of DSW Schools
List of Jamia Millia Islamia Schools

List of Government Aided Schools

List of MCD Aided Schools
List of NDMC Aided Schools

List of Public Schools Recognised by DOE

List of Public Schools Recognised by MCD
List of NDMC Recognized Schools
List of DCB Recognized Schools
List of Public Schools Recognised by DOE Under RTE Act, 2009 (1-8 Elementary)
List of Public Schools Recognised by DOE Under RTE Act, 2009 (1-5 Primary)
List of Kshetras